Category Archive: Book Reviews

Sep 14

The Waterway Girls by Milly Adams

The_Waterway_Girls_Milly_Adams

I’m always delighted when the latest novel from Milly Adams arrives on my desk and happy to say her latest, The Waterway Girls, did not disappoint. More than that, I discovered that this is the start of a series which follows the unsung heroes who spent the war on the canals. It is October, 1943 …

Continue reading »

Sep 04

The Seven Imperfect Rules of Elvira Carr By Frances Maynard Book Review

I really loved this book. It has a lead character with Asperger’s- which I think is a great thing- we need more stories told from different perspectives, and it is just funny and well written, but also sad. It is original and, sometimes, even a bit of a difficult read. Some people take advantage of …

Continue reading »

Aug 24

The People At Number 9 By Felicity Everett Now Out In Paperback

One of Frosts favourite books of the year is now out in paperback. You can read our review of The People At Number 9 here. We recommend you get your hands on a copy. Meet the new neighbours. Whose side are you on? Have you met the People at Number 9? Sara and Neil have new neighbours …

Continue reading »

Aug 23

Family London: Fun Days Out With Children From Tots To Teens By Jimi Famurewa

Family London: Fun Days Out With Children From Tots To Teens By Jimi Famurewa This brilliant little book has over 100 great things to do in London with children. From little ones to teens, there is something for everyone. Great when you are stuck or want to try something new. It is not too heavy …

Continue reading »

Aug 23

What To Read in August

A romance novel that you can really get your teeth into. Engaging characters and a brilliant story.  Any Dream Will Do By Debbie Macomber It’s never too late to start again. Two unlikely friends find the strength in each other to overcome their painful pasts. Shay Benson adored her younger brother. She did all she could to …

Continue reading »

Aug 10

The Reminders By Val Emmich Book Review

The Reminders By Val Emmich has a very interesting premise: a man who wants to remember, and a little girl who wants to forget. It is a wonderful concept but not all great concepts make great novels. Luckily for Val Emmich The Reminders does work. It is a novel which is both happy and sad, funny and …

Continue reading »

Aug 09

In the World’s Shadows By Christopher Hamilton | Recommended Books

SYNOPSIS In the World’s Shadows is a testimony to the redemptive power of love, creating hope in the bleakest of times.   It follows Christopher’s life, from a young child in colonial India, who moves with his glamorous mother to South Africa during World War II.  After she gets involved with a domineering, heavy drinking …

Continue reading »

Aug 04

Five Books To Read This August

  The Upstairs Room is one of our favourite books of the year. Now out in paperback. Read it now.   A very clever and well written book with a message. An environmental wake up call for a fragile planet.   A engrossing and fun novel. Perfect for fans of Call The Midwife. The second …

Continue reading »

Older posts «